Leader - Take Failure yourself but give success to team

Raghul Prasanth
2 min readJul 3, 2021

I selected this topic for my first blog of “Leadership” series because recently I came across the inspiring press conference given long back by Dr.A.P.J.Abdul Kalam.

In press conference he said, “In 1979, for SLV3 satellite launch vehicle, I was the Mission Director, my mission is to put the satellite in the orbit. Thousands of people worked nearly 10 years. I reached Sriharikota and it was in the launch pad, the countdown was going on, T minus 5.. T minus 4.. T minus 1… T minus 40 secs.. Computer put a hold.. “Don’t launch it” . Computer says “Don’t launch it”. I am the mission director, I have to take decision. Everything is on. Behind me, there are six experts. They saw data in the system and pictures in the system and the problem is there’s a leakage in a control system. But we did the calculation and thought no problem, we have got sufficient fuel and oxidizer for control.. so we thought we can go ahead.. Now, of course, my experts view but I took the decision. Problem is mine. Finally I took the decision, I bypassed the computer and I launched the system. The first stage worked in a four stage rocket and second stage got mad. It went into spin and instead of putting the satellite in the orbit, it put into Bay of Bengal. 1979, it was a failure. First time I experienced my failure. How do you manage failure? Success I can manage. So at that time, a great man and a great leader Satish Dhawan. I was very tired working nearly for months , but Satish came to me and said “Come let us go for a press conference”. World Press with the cameras and with many number of people, this and that.. All gadgets there.. I was really frightened that I will be the culprit there because I was the Project and Mission Director. What Satish Dhawan(ISRO chairman) said is, “ Dear Friends, we have failed today. I want to support my all staffs, technologists so that next year they succeed”. So he took whole blame on himself. Then media asked “ You have put so many crores into Bay of Bengal” and lot of criticism. But next year July 18th 1980, when we succeeded, Mr.Dhawan said, “ You go and conduct the press conference”.

What this says???? It means when failure occurred, the leader took it up. When the success came he gives to his team. This is true leadership!!!!

When subordinates know that leader will accept the failure on his own, leaders often gain greater loyalty from their team and also subordinates will get more courage to try out new things and do in a better way!!

So as a Leader, take failure on your own but give success to the team!!!

Next Blog - https://raghulprasanthpsg.medium.com/leader-care-your-team-1b010d5e618

--

--